The Ebb

Hey hey!!! It’s been a while. know I promised to come with a post based on all those titles y’all gave me but my head’s been clouded! I see some freedom on the horizon sha. This means I shall blog more regularly in future. Having said that, today’s post is a poem.

In truth, I took poetry seriously before fiction and blogging ever came along. What you are about to read was written at one of my lowest points. Yes, I get depressed too!

Enjoy…

******************

The Ebb

******************

 

When all you have of a smile is a memory
When being at peace with earth is a felony
When tears and grief are an essential part of me
When nightfall draws curtains on my tragedy

When melancholy is the best cloak I wear
When I’d rather jump off than stand and dare
When the waters, once pristine, are now unclear
When my being, my essence is stilled with fear

And the full-bodied smile is now worn thin
And the will is lost to muster a grin
And there’s turmoil without; turmoil within
And the doors once ajar now shut you in

And the head is bowed not in mirthful praise
Not in joyous extolment of all His ways
But in solemn bereavement; a stricken haze
Fingers lifted, counting days

Nature’s illusion – that hope lies ahead
That the future’s a dancehall for those who choose well
Well, I’ve chosen my bride: my misery I’ll wed
I cradle my head. And bask in the ebb…

About cikk0

I think I'm proper sane. A lot of people seem to think different. Oh well... Locate a brother on twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/cikk0

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. ibetapassmynebo

    So u re now an alien???

  2. isetfiretotherain

    I want to learn how to write poetry

  3. *arranges Aso Ebi*

    So, when is the wedding. I cannot carry last twice in one day.

  4. I like the mood…its very familiar territory. Really cool.

  5. ilike even though it didnt end as I expected. U dont want to be permanently *yoked* to misery so kindly end the relationship… Terdoh’s comment is funny 😀

  6. Wow…hmmmn…n dis was written at a low…omo ur high go bloody gan.

    Meanwhile, pls can I MC d wedding, my fee no high at all…hehehehehe.

    Good to have u back bruv. Now bring Johny Okro back or else…

  7. Nature’s illusion – that hope lies ahead
    That the future’s a dancehall for those who choose well
    Hmm…

  8. And they lived in-misery ever after…

    Unless he flips the script…

    My advice?… Flip it!

  9. “Mrs Misery Cikko” cool. The poetry side of you…nice!

  10. Nice 1
    Keep it up!

  11. Beautifully written. Fuck the technicalities of poetry and all that jazz, this is really and truly a work of art.

    “Nature’s illusion – that hope lies ahead
    That the future’s a dancehall for those who choose well
    Well, I’ve chosen my bride: my misery I’ll wed
    I cradle my head. And bask in the ebb…”

    This is my favorite verse. It’s funny because the deepest lines always come from that sorrowful, melancholy state. I always appreciate those seasons 🙂

    Well done.

  12. Been thinking for a full 5mins of how to write the feelings evoked by this poem and I can’t. Despite the sadness n melancholy, there’s a beauty abt d darkness. I love it! Very well done.

  13. i dunno why but in my head, i keep hearing this poem read by a yoruba man with phenomenal h-factor issues ‘…hi cradu mai ead hand bask hin the hebb…’ (-_-)

Leave a Reply

