Fade Away

I’m definitely making this into a song!

******************************************

 

 

For a time my whole world was but perfect
It was shiny and bright. It was gold
Never thought I’d once be broken-hearted
This is ugly and dull: yes i know

And the smile I was once had, my old twinkle
and the way that i glowed in the dark
and the knowledge that love was so simple
seems a rocketed blast from the past

Can I drink lots of wine and sleep it all off
Can I laugh at a joke and forget for a day
Can I hope that you’ll snap out and suddenly call
Can I open my eyes and not watch it all
Fade away

For a time I lived life how I dreamt it,
With no limits, a hug and a smile
But now someone is dearly departed
So I’ll shower for longer to cry

And I’ll sit and I’ll mope and I’ll never go out
I will grieve for eternity’s spring
Then I’ll weep and I’ll scream and i’ll tear my hair out
Cuz I know I’ll remain unfulfilled

Wish I could drink lots of wine and sleep it all off
Can I laugh at a joke and forget anyway
Can I hope that you’ll wake up and suddenly call
Can I open my eyes and not watch it all
Fade away

So I went through the things that you left behind
Seeking answers and comfort and hope
Do I feel better? Am i suddenly fine?
The answer is always a ‘no’

And this wholesome soul is now incomplete
This body is drained of all fight
Wish I flip change time for exorbitant fees
A small price if it makes things alright

Because I can’t drink much wine: I’ll just throw up
And you told the jokes best anyway
And no one will wake up or reach out to call
So I’ll open my arms and try to fall
As I fade away

About cikk0

I think I'm proper sane. A lot of people seem to think different. Oh well... Locate a brother on twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/cikk0

Posted on July 26, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Man. Man.

    Been a while I’ve read stuff from you. This is a reminder of what I’m missing.

    Cool bro. Take it easy though alright?

  2. Can I sing it when you do? ^_^ 😀 lol.. Love!

  3. Sounds like something I would listen to. Especially at those very tough moments

  4. Gretel dear, that was an awesome piece but kinda sad. Did it have to do with someone you knew who died or a recent heartbreak?

    Just curious
    Ps. Do u still write on Naijastories at all?

  5. I love this. Can I do a cover of it when you make it a song?

Leave a Reply

